Poetry: Ghosts

I hope I haunt you.

When our son Smiles and he looks just like me.

When you see your empty retirement because you had to give it all to me.

I hope I haunt you.

Everytime you put that watch on that I bought for you on our wedding day.

Everytime you want to pet the dog. But he’s with me.

I hope I haunt you.

When you watch The Office and remember you threw away your “Pam”.

When you see a great photo. But don’t have a camera anymore. Because it’s with me.

I hope I haunt you.

Everytime you eat ice cream in bed at night. Getting sprinkles everywhere.

Everytime I talk about my boyfriend, because he’s with me.

I hope I haunt you.

When you hear our song. And you remember that weekend camping.

When youre upset I still don’t trust you, because you have lost all  integrity with me.

I hope I haunt you.

Everytime you put your blue and green striped shirt on that I bought you in Barbados.

Everytime time you kiss her and she still isn’t me.

I hope I haunt you.

When you close your eyes and lie to yourself that it was all my fault.

When you see me happy. Without you.

I hope I haunt you

Leave a Reply

